Skip to content

INTERNSHIP AUGUST Spotlight Post #3: UVMtv students Cannes do it right

August 11, 2014

As JaM-blog groupies know, UVMtv filmmaker Callie Mae Bowen this summer interned (it’s a word) at the 2014 Creative Minds in Cannes Program.

Callie Bowen

Callie Mae Bowen

Here’s her end-of-internship report.

BY CALLIE MAE BOWEN

Over this past summer, I was given the amazing opportunity to be a sales rep intern for the Hollywood Reporter, while attending the International Cannes Film Festival.

In order to be offered this internship, I completed a rigorous application process for the Creative Mind Group, an organization that accepts students from all over the world and allows them to travel to different international film festivals, in order to intern with different media companies, network with different industry professionals and create short films while attending the festival events.

Bowen works on the terrace of the JW Marriott for The Hollywood Reporter while attending the International Cannes Film Festival.

Bowen works on the terrace of the JW Marriott for The Hollywood Reporter while attending the International Cannes Film Festival.

Traveling with the Creative Mind Group was one of the best things that has ever happened to me. Walking to work every morning was one of my favorite parts of my internship. I was no longer a tourist at the festival; I belonged there. I would leave my hotel early in the morning and get on my shuttle to take me to the Palais. Once I was off the shuttle and in the heart of downtown Cannes, I would head over to the nearest bakery. The streets were crowded with unbelievable amounts of people, but the alluring smell of the fresh croissants always lead my way. From there, I walked briskly past the first premiere of the day where I would get my first glimpse of the day of celebrities. Their glimmering dresses and handsome suits would always catch my eye, but I knew I had hard work to do before I could enjoy that myself.

Bowen poses with her supervisors from The Hollywood Reporter while having lunch on the last day of the festival.

Bowen poses with her supervisors from The Hollywood Reporter while having lunch on the last day of the festival.

Once I got to work, my boss would tell me my daily responsibilities, and I would get started.

During their time at the festival, THR had daily issues of the magazine for the week. Within each issue the different production companies who were at the festival would advertise so that all the attendees of the festival could see their work.

One of my larger responsibilities was to deliver the daily issues of the magazine to each of the production companies that advertised within them and work one on one with those companies to discuss their ad. In addition, part of my position was picking up tickets for premieres, getting more magazine orders, and delivering messages from the different venues of each company. THR was located on the terrace of the Marriott in Cannes, where we often had several producers and directors having different business meetings all at the same time, so another element of my job was to organize this area.

While I was not at my internship during the day, I was attending the world premieres, going to production company parties and networking with industry professionals at night. It was phenomenal to be able to go to these screenings and meet different directors and producers from around the world that just happened to be sitting next to you.

I still stay in touch with most of them today. Overall, this internship has been one of the most extraordinary experiences of my life.

Check out our previous INTERNSHIP AUGUST posts:

Leave a Reply

